How we help

Project Nicaragua is a nonprofit organization that partners with student and community leaders in Nicaragua and the United States to create sustainable projects in a multitude of areas. We engage communities through ongoing dialogue and collaboration to understand local challenges and create realistic solutions. We are committed to using an evidence based approach to develop our projects and measure our progress to best serve the needs of under-resourced communities.  

See our chapters in action!

Watch our documentary

Projects

Many of Project Nicaragua's university chapters work in partnership with local teachers and community leaders to create curriculum for students in the area that may be falling behind in school. The curriculums have helped in many areas, ranging from core subjects, such as math and science, to more skill-based subjects, such as leadership seminars and business practices. University students continue to implement the curriculum even when they are not in Nicaragua, through the use of recorded and live videos.

The Sewing center is a project that was started with the hope of giving the women in the community of Rancho Grande the chance to sustainably create another form of income. Goods such as bags, scrunchies, and wallets have been sewn and sold, with all profits being given to the women at the center. It has become one of the most successful projects implemented, with goods often selling out. For more information, please visit the Ohio State University Chapter website.

The ONIL stove was developed by HELPS International and engineer Don O'Neil. The project was created in order to replace the use of open fires in the home.  The reduction of body burns and respiratory issues due to the smoke was the main goal of the project. Project Nicaragua members helped install stoves across the community, and the project continues to grow to this day.

The bakery was created in 2012 as a part of a hands-on initiative to empower and educate young people in Rancho Grande. Students from Tierra Prometida received a micro-loan from Project Nicaragua to jump-start their business. A local baker was hired to help the students learn cooking techniques and recipes in accordance with the unique climate and culture of Nicaragua. The bakery continues to be a helpful source of income and learning opportunities for students.

0

PROJECTS

0

INVESTED

0

LOREM

0

LOREM

Chapters

We engage university students by providing tools and guidance to facilitate project and partnership development. Check out our current chapters!

Become a chapter

ohio state university

Learn more

university of california, berkeley

university of california, san diego

university of california, san francisco

university of california, los angeles

The Team

Ravi Menghani

Co President

rmenghani@projectnic.org

Stanley Park

Co President

spark@projectnic.org

Mikafui Dzotsi

Assistant Executive Director

mdzotsi@projectnic.org

Samantha Alonso

Assistant Executive Director

salonso@projectnic.org

Jason Slater

Marketing

jslater@projectnic.org

Brian Schubert

Finance & Fundraising

bschubert@projectnic.org

Nathaniel Griffin

Strategic Partnerships

ngriffin@projectnic.org

Vishal Kalbavi

Administration

vkalbavi@projectnic.org

Orin Troyer

Outreach & Social Media

otroyer@projectnic.org

Join the action!
Anyone can help.